menu

Residential Services and Support

Alternative accommodation menu

Letting agents

Lettings agents can be a useful source of finding private sector housing if you are looking for a flat or house.  They cannot assist you to find a room in a house share.  Before commencing your search for accommodation, ensure you read the Private Accommodation Guide [PDF 322KB].

Advantages include; access to a wide range of properties, minimum health and safety checks have already been verified by the agent, comprehensive assured shorthold tenancies offered. 

Disadvantages include; possible higher rents, UK based guarantors required, non-refundable holding deposits are required to remove property from market, possible delays in repairs being effected.

Agents and property managers must be a member of a government approved redress scheme.  These schemes provide a free, independent service for resolving complaints between letting agents and their tenants or landlords.  It's a criminal offence for a letting agent not to be a member of a redress scheme and a local authority can issue a fixed penalty fine of up to £5000.

There are three govenment-approved letting agent redress schemes;

 Letting agents must also be part of a Client Money Protection (CMP) Scheme which ensures that they are protecting their clients monies.

In addition, we always recommend that you use an agent who has membership with one of the following associations, whose aim is to promote a high standard of service and conduct: ARLA, GPEA LLAS, NALS, NAEA, RICS, or UKALA

We have provided a list of letting agents local to Queen Mary which may assist you.  These agents have agreed to sign the QM Code of Practice for Residential Letting Agents [PDF 421KB]. If you feel any agent is in breach of the Code, or you are dissatisfied with their service, please contact us urgently.  If the agent fails to rectify any breach we may suspend their inclusion on this page.

Alex Neil 341 Roman Road, E3 020 8980 7431 www.alexneil.com/East-London-Estate-Agents
Alexander David Property 497 Roman Road, E5 020 8980 3480 www.alexanderdavidproperty.co.uk
Alphabet City 49 West India Dock Road, E14 020 7345 9666 www.alphabetcity.co.uk
Elliot Leigh 466-468 Roman Road, E3 020 8983 4444 www.elliotleigh.com
Hammonds 57 Bow Road, E3 020 8980 2226 www.hammonds-estates.co.uk
Ideal Homes 103 Burdett Road, E3 020 8980 8500 www.idealhomes.uk.com
Keatons 397 Mile End Road, E3 020 8981 7788 www.keatons.com
Look Property Services 349 Roman Road, E3 020 8981 9999 www.lookproperty.co.uk
Olympia Properties 13a Brick Lane, E1 020 7377 8000 www.olympiaproperties.co.uk
Outlook Property 2 Romford Road, E15 020 8221 4444 www.outlookproperty.com
Regent Property Services Unit 4, The Chronos Building 9-25 Mile End Road, E1 020 7790 9977 www.regentps.com
Relocators 225 Mile End Road, E1 020 7791 1212 www.relocators.uk.com
Theydon Property Services 20 Church Lane, E11 020 8539 2009 www.theydons.com
WJ Meade 391 Mile End Road, E3 020 8981 3331 www.wjmeade.co.uk

There are also a number of online review sites for letting agents, two of the most trusted are:

Please note: All online review sites (including those above) suffer for both negative and positive ‘fake’ reviews. Therefore we would always advise you to use an agent who is a member of one of the associations listed on this page, rather than relying solely on reviews.

Return to top